Skip to main content


Showing posts from September, 2017

8 Information About Divriği Ulu Mosque

One of the worthy works in Sivas's Divriği province that can not be underestimated. Anatolian El-hamra, Divriği Ulu Mosque and Darussifa.
1. It was built at the time of Anatolian Selcuq Empire

Ulu Mosque was built by Ahmet Şah, the son of Süleyman Şah, and Darüşşifa, by his wife Melike Turan Melek in Anatolian Seljuk period. The construction took 15 years and was completed in 1243. The head architect was Ahlatli Hürrem Shah.
2. Darüşşifa

This section is adjacent to the window of the mosque. It was used in the treatment of mind and nervous patients by the sound of water and ney. And also served as madrasah. The graves of those who have built the mosque are here.
3. Minbar

This minbar, which is the same age as the mosque, is made of ebony wood, the longest-lasting tree, and still maintains its originality. The architect used wood nails in the combination of the master piece only used iron nails where he wanted to increase the strength and concealed the heads of these nails.
4. Patte…

Kariye Museum

Although it is one of the unique historical heritages of Istanbul, one of the lesser known values is the Kariye Museum. The history of the museum dates back to 500 years. First constructed as a monastery, the building underwent several repairs and renovations, and its present condition was restored by Teodor Metokhites in the late 1300s.

The church, which had some impressive examples from the last works of Byzantine art, continued to be used as a church for a long time after the conquest of Istanbul. The church, which was decided to be transformed into a mosque by Atik Ali Pasha in 1511, has long been known as Atik Ali Pasha Mosque.

No frescoes were damaged in the church during the transformation, only the plaster was covered on art. For this reason, with the restoration work that started in 1948, it was possible to reach these frescoes with almost as the first day. The museum opened its doors to its guests in 1954 and has had a unique place among the memories of many locals and forei…

Soğukçeşme Street

Soğukçeşme Street is a historical street next to Topkapi Palace. This street, which created a charming image with its gabled and low-rise historic houses, was used as the residence of palace staff and wealthy families during its era. Gulhane Park, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia, this street is the place to be seen in and around Eminönü. There are twelve houses on the street. One of these houses is the house where the former President Fahri Korutürk was born.

Ottoman and Roman traces are seen in the street. Naziki lodge and the Roman Cistern Romans are some of them. After the renovations at the end of the 20th century, the street is now used as a pension. Sogukçeşme Street also has a hotel and a restaurant offering French and Turkish cuisine.

Add this Street to the list of places to visit in Istanbul, which is at the back of the Hagia Sophia Museum.
Visits to Soğukçeşme Street
Address: Cankurtaran St.. Sogukçeşme Road 34200 Fatih Istanbul

Transportation: The street can be reached from E…

Arasta Bazaar

Arasta Bazaar is a bazaar in Istanbul that dates back to the Ottoman period. Behind the Blue Mosque, there are many places selling carpets, rugs, jewelery and handmade products in the bazaar. There are about 70 shops on both sides of the bazaar, also known as Sipahi Bazaar.

"Arasta" is the old name of covered bazaars. The Arasta Bazaar, believed to have been built on structures belonging to the Byzantine period, was burnt down in 1930. After that, the bazaar which was not used for a long time was restored in 1980 and opened to service again. The long and thick planks between the roofs of the shops create a different image. There is a café where you can relax after visiting the Arasta Bazaar, and the Mosaic Museum, where the mosaics are displayed in the 1950s.

Places to visit in Istanbul around the bazaar include the Hagia Sophia Museum, the Blue Mosque and the Yerebatan Cistern, which are the most important sightseeing points of our list.
Arasta Bazaar Visit Information

III. Ahmet Fountain

III. Ahmet Fountain in 1729. Mehmet Aga is the architect of the fountain, he built it for the mothers of the Sultan. The fountain, built with Turkish rococo architecture, has five small domes that make the floral reliefs striking.

III. The Ahmet Fountain is not a squirt, but a fountain. There are fountains on the four corners of the building. At the front side of these fountains it should be seen signed line works of 17th century by Ottoman poet Seyit Vehbi Efendi. Also on the structure Sultan III. Ahmet has a handwriting. It is known that three windows in the corners and the saplings underneath it were provided with sherbet instead of water. The fountain which was located at the sea front has been moved to the present place with the arrangement of the plaza.

At the intersection of the fountain you can see Topkapi Palace and Soğukçeşme Street. you can add places toyour visit list.

III. Ahmet Fountain Visiting Information

Address: Cankurtaran Str.., Soguk Cesme Road. 34200 Fatih Ista…

Gulhane Park

Gulhane Park is one of the most beautiful parks of Istanbul. It was in the palace area in Ottoman Empire . The area, which has been neglected for a long time, has attained its present appearance after being renovated in 2003.

The section and works to be seen in the park include the Goths Column dating from the 3rd century, Kennedy Caddesi in the north-east and its unique view. Gulhane, which is one of the biggest and most famous parks of Istanbul, is also important in terms of witnessing many history. It was used by the Byzantines as a barracks and as a celebration area during the Ottoman period. After the conquest of Istanbul, the Gospel of Gulhane was built. The Hatt-i Sharif of Gulhane (tanzimat fermanı) known as the first democratization movement in the Ottoman Empire was read here. In the Republican period Mustafa Kemal Atatürk introduced the Latin Letters here. Gulhane Park, which was used as a palace garden for a period, was opened to the public in 1912. A zoo was opened in 195…